Yes we are!

A few weeks back we went to look at another apartment and last week we got the news – we’re moving!

We’ll get the new apartment in October, and the company will fix it up for us before we move in. That means that I have about two months to get ready for a move, to sort out what really stays and what won’t come with us. This time it’s is down to the core stuff for me because I am pretty sure that I will not be moving again before the kids move out in approximately 12 years.

We will go from 1120 sq ft to 937 sq ft, from a rent of $970 to $870. Considering we’ve already moved once, this means that since I found the minimalist movement and whole heartedly jumped on the simplifying train, we’ve downsized from 1453 sq ft and a rent of $ 1070, in two years. I’d say that is pretty good.

This weekend I brought the kids to the flea market to sell the toys and stuff that they’d sorted out from their rooms. We were there for 2,5 hours, got rid of most of our things and earned $135, which we split between us. The money wasn’t important to me (I know I sold some very nice stuff way cheap!), but the feeling of leaving what was left at Goodwill, coming home with nothing, was so worth it! Now I know that what’s left in their rooms are the toys and books that they would like to bring with us as we move, and that makes the packing later on so much easier!

My goal this week is to sort and get rid of frames. I’ll be back at the end of the week with a count on how many will be leaving us…

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in home, Minimalism, Simplifying and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yes we are!

  1. Many kudos on the down sizing! That’s impressive! And getting the kids onboard with decluttering is a real coup!
    Melinda

  2. Congratulations on finding a new place (that you might stay in for a while 😉 ) and kudos on selling all that stuff together with the kids.. bet that felt really good getting that stuff out of the door.

    I think you guys have done great with the downsizing, especially since there are still just as many of you to fit into the place, and I’m sure the money saved doing so is a great extra to tuck away for something else.

Leave a comment