Living in a box

  
Sunday is the big move and for a couple of weeks I’ve been packing our things together and driven them to the basement of our new place. Most cabinets are empty and our rooms are too. I think we’ve used about 15 boxes, which to me seems pretty few considering we’re a family of four. The most interesting part of all this is that I haven’t missed anything so far. There’s nothing in those boxes that I’ve needed for the last two weeks. 
That being said, when unpacking all our stuff again, I will probably hold on to more than I need to, so I’m thinking I may not want to start unpacking right away, but let the boxes sit for a while, to also let the family understand that most things in there are redundant. 

Many people I know say that they would dread to move away from their homes because they have so many things, and they see the amount of time they have to spend packing, moving those boxes, and then unpacking them again. I say moving house every now and then is a great way to really look your things over and evaluate them – do I need this to function in my home, does it in any way add value in my life? Such a great opportunity to scrutinize all things that make a place your home! 

Now what I don’t look forward to is scrubbing that old place down this weekend……

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism, Move, Simplifying and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Living in a box

  1. projectpatrol says:

    I’m not moving anywhere but, I like the idea of putting things in boxes to see if we’ll even miss them. Good luck with the move!

Leave a comment