The Minimalists

I use Instagram everyday. To me it’s not just a photo diary or a place to showcase my pictures. I started out following people who took photos that I liked, but now most of the ones I follow are people who live inspiring lives, the kind of lives I am secretly wishing for.

The other day I asked a person about how to make the important things in life get the attention and space it deserves, to downsize and not have so much meaningless STUFF everywhere at home. From another one of this person’s followers I got the link to the blog called The Minimalists. This is exactly what I mean about downsizing! I am not interested in having all these things, and I wish nothing more than to teach my kids that things are not the important stuff in life.

It is hard to get others to understand what I mean, being in a society where possessions are the thing that defines who you are. I have not yet started to get rid of my stuff, but I am making plans to do so. I am not happier owning, I am happy when I am creating, when I am making memories, and I will try very hard on focusing on those things in the future.

If you are interested in understanding what I mean, please check out the website. I am sure I will be referring to it a lot!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Minimalists

  1. Love love love this!
    That’s why we live where we live… Not only for the weather… Swe is a lot about what you have or don’t have and what you do. Not so much of who you are… What an I initiative from your side. Proud of you and keeps me inspired!!!!

  2. Anne Lene says:

    I agree, happier with creating rather than owning. Stuff can sure clutter you up. I’ve been pretty good at keeping stuff in check, but I want to take it to the next level, and that’s why I decided to get rid of at least 365 “things” this year (yes more than, since several items can count as 1) and to keep myself accountable I decided to start a blog.. My first ever 🙂 and I chose to do just like you, write it in English even though I’m Norwegian. It’s going to be fun to see where the blog takes me, since I already have selveral thighs I’d like to write about that not strictly comes under the minimalist topic.. I wish you luck with your blog.. What I’ve seen so far looks really good..

Leave a Reply

