Clutter be gone!

I probably won’t get round to it today, and I guess tomorrow is as bad a day to start, but sometime very soon I will start packing up and getting rid of so much of the clutter in this apartment!

If you have looked around at the minimalist blog that I wrote about yesterday, you might have come across some of their essays. The ones about de-cluttering are the ones that interest me the most right now.

Can one de-clutter a home with two kids and a husband who (thinks) he loves his stuff? I have read some essays about owning less than a hundred things, that when these people counted, they actually didn’t have one hundred things all together. I have one hundred things in my bedroom alone…

…I haven’t counted them but I’m pretty sure of it. And most of it I really don’t need. Or want. And then I have four more rooms. And the kids have one room each. Yeah, counting stuff aren’t on my to do-list. But I am willing to get rid of it.

I guess it starts with getting used to the thought, and I have come pretty far. Just need to persuade the hubby.
And the kids.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clutter be gone!

  1. Tez says:

    Yes, this exactly!! I’ve started a similar project this fall…now that our garage/workshop/storage area is “finished” (or, close enough), I can finally move things away from our living space. And, at the same time sort/organize our stuff. I really want to get rid of *stuff*, too, and will try to make an effort to not only get rid of broken/too small/mismatched *stuff*, but also nice things that are totally unneccessary and only contribute to the cluttered feeling. I think it can almost be left unsaid that this is a project that will likely take a long while… ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

