Goodbye childhood.

This weekend I cleared out my old Barbies and their furniture. Yes, my mother had kept them safe for the generation to come, and because I was the one who had kids first, it all ended up at our place. I would have loved it if either of the kids had wanted to play with it, but as it turned out, they didn’t.Β 

At first, my daughter had a Barbie house, then the stuff moved into one of her closets, but when nothing had been played with for over a year I knew it was time for it to go. Yes, my sister almost started crying (because, some of the stuff were hers, ooops!), but what should I do, save it for my grandkids?! (My kids are 5 and 8) Okay, I could have boxed it all up again and given it to my sister, but she doesn’t have any kids, nor does she have space because she saves everything! I actually think I did her a favor, because when I called her earlier today to say that I had sold it, she was very upset. Until I told her that I would give her half the money, then she was like “Oh. Well, then I’ll just pretend it’s still in a box in the basement”.Β 

It was difficult at first to let go, but all the Barbies went to at good place today, and I am glad to get some extra space (which I will NOT fill with other stuff!). Besides, the money we got from it is now in our piggy bank. My kids agreed that we should save it so that we might be able to travel to Iceland during the summer of 2014, something that we all really would like to do.

Goodbye Childhood, from now on, you’ll be only in my thoughts!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Goodbye childhood.

  1. Tez says:

    You know…it continues to freak me out a bit, the similarilies between our lives…my mom has also kept pretty.much.everything. from my childhood, and now that I have kids, she’ll bring those things here (my brother remains childless). Thankfully, she lives on another continent, and is limited in how much she can bring. Maximum tolerance for suitcase weight is, in this case, a wonderful thing πŸ˜‰ My kids don’t really want to play with any of the toys, either, but I haven’t hardened my heart πŸ˜‰ enough to be able to get rid of any of them, yet. The old toys, I mean…not the kids. Ha!

    Also…Iceland is on my top 3 places to visit. (Along with Scotland and Machu Picchu).

  2. You know I still think about taking the plane up to see you some day. I am guessing when the kids are a bit older (both yours and mine) that will be a bit easier. It’s on my bucket list! ❀

  3. Tez says:

    I would like that πŸ™‚ . And, I’m starting to think that hubby wouldn’t need any other explanation than ‘a friend from Sweden’…he seems to be taking less and less interest in anything to do with my life, so he probably wouldn’t even notice a visitor…

  4. Rolf Befus says:

    Thanks for the read!

Leave a Reply

