Facts vs dreams

Sometimes things happen that makes you question what you have and what you are doing. For me, the issues I have are mainly about the Swedish educational system. 

I am a teacher. I teach kids ages 12-15 and most of the time, I love it! I love interacting with the kids and teaching them stuff that are important and that they might find useful in the future, and I love trying to give them good values in life. But. I have some issues with “the system”.

One thing is that I find myself actually spending less and less time with the kids. I feel like I am drowning in paperwork and that time to help is never enough. Still I try taking the time, which some days leaves me dead tired, drained, without energy to focus on my own two kids when I get home. I often feel like I give everybody else’s kids more attention than I give my own! I don’t have the energy to teach them important and cool stuff, or how to be good persons. I forget to help my daughter with her homework, I don’t have time to participate in her education, but I know everything about others’ kids, and frankly I find that screwed up!

Most of all I would love to home school my kids. I would love to be the one teaching them different languages, history, religion. Sadly, that is forbidden in Sweden. We have a school system that wants everyone to be squares fitting into square holes, and if you try to be any other shape you are supposed to press into the square hole anyway. Everyone must fit, everyone must be the same. And I don’t want all the kids to be the same, not everyone can be the same!

I just want to be happy, with my own kids.

I could go on about this, and I probably will in another post, but I am telling you – it’s difficult working within a system that you think is wrong. My problem is; how do I get out???

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

