10/10 my way

So, again on the Minimalist blog I read about something called 10/10. Basically it’s listing ten (expensive? I don’t remember) things that you own and then comparing that list to a list of the ten things, or experiences, that you feel you really need or that make you happy. The reason to do that, other than to see if the lists coincide, is of course to better see what’s important in your life.

I am making those lists in my head and thought I might as well get them down in writing. It’s pretty interesting to think about. Most interesting is that I really don’t own much to put on that first list, no expensive gadgets or things that I think that I must have. Anyways, here I go!

List of expensive things I own:
* our summer house
* the car
* the apartment (which really, we just rent, but it still costs a bit every month)
* our two large TV’s
* two computers
* TV-games (which to be frank, I don’t even know what they’re called)
* the sofa
* the other furniture, I guess
…eh…
* oh, my iPhone

List of things that make me happy:
* our summer house, because it means growing our own potatoes, burning branches, digging, BBQ-ing, renovating, finding old weird stuff, seeing animals, swimming in the lake, letting the kids run free and sometimes naked….. And so on.
* painting, even though I don’t do it well, it’s relaxing
* visiting churches, which is funny considering I’m not a believer
* travel, especially with my kids because they see everything like it’s the first time (and of course, most time it is!)
* make things, like cards or just glue things with my hot glue gun. Most times it turns out not so great, but it’s fun, especially when I’m doing it with the kids, again
* going to museums and photo exhibitions
* the ocean
* finding and picking berries and mushrooms in the forest. Or not finding anything and just looking at things
* teaching when someone wants to learn. That happens a lot with my kids and sometimes at work, being a teacher and all
* spending time with my husband, when we just sit together and aren’t really doing anything…
And I know my list of things I like should end here, but I also have to add
* reading. So, my books!
* and having a quiet cup of coffee in the sofa on the balcony!
* and I really love Instagram!

Comparing the two lists it’s easy to see that our summer house is the best investment we’ve ever done. It’s the only thing we actually own except for the car, and it brings us a lot of joy even though we don’t spend a lot of time there during the winter months. To go there easily, and to do the grocery shopping, we need the car, but it is really just a transportation vehicle, not a bringer of happiness.
All the other things on my list of things we own are things I have a love-hate relationship with. I could probably live without most of it if I had to.

Oh how I wish I had to, sometimes.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

