When the giving feels tough

During this winter holiday I have cleared out quite a lot of toys from my kids’ rooms. The things that weren’t worth saving I have thrown away, but now I have three large boxes with toys that are worth something. And here comes the hard part.

I know that I could get perhaps $200 if I sold it in a yard sale, but since I’m in Sweden and it’s winter, it’s not really yard sale season, and selling them would mean storing them for a couple of months first. So instead I could give them away and I would be rid of them today. But my brain goes “yes, but think about the money you’ll lose”, and then I feel bad for wanting money instead of just giving the stuff to charity. On one hand it’s not like we have an abundance of money, but on the other hand, it’s not as if we don’t have enough. And then I think of the money again and I think “but that’s almost a one way ticket to Iceland for one person”, our dream being to go there this summer. But then I think that this trip isn’t the most important thing in life and if we don’t go this summer, we’ll go some other time. And there are people who don’t have enough to eat, so who am I to be thinking my trip is more important?

So yes, I have decided to leave the toys to be sold for some charity instead, even though it feels tough, because really, I give away money every month to charity so what is the difference? And also, I will get rid of a lot of boxes, which I know will feel like a huge relief.

So, win-win.

 

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

