Great job, guys!

After cleaning out my son’s room, my daughter actually asked me when we were going to do hers. That is such a huge step forward, because she is not one to easily give up her things. The smallest thing is worth saving as long as it is cute enough.

Today we started! For the longest time I just stood in her room, trying to breathe, and decide where to start. It was not easy, but she was ready to do it, and when we started, she happily told me to give away stuffed animals, books and coloring books that she had already finished. We’re not nearly done, but I am proud of her, and I am thinking that many of the small plastic things that she decided today that she wanted to keep, are things that she eventually will get rid of all by her self as she gets older. Otherwise will just do another rinse sometime in the future.

Another person who did a great job today is my husband. The other day we watched the Minimalists talk in Seattle together. I had seen it before, but my husband hadn’t. He didn’t know anything about the Minimalists, except for what I had told him. So, we watched it together, and then he just said he was tired, and went to bed. I felt a bit annoyed because I was ready to discuss it and really wanted to know what he thought, and instead I got nothing.

The day after, he woke up, and the first thing he said was – Yup, I get it. Lets do this!

So this morning, before he had to leave for work, he cleaned out his closet. A whole black plastic bag with clothes he never uses, doesn’t like or that are too big for him. I am very proud of him, and relieved too, that I am not on my own in this.

I am back at work on Tuesday and then when I am no longer right in the mix of things all day, I will probably notice the difference more. I am looking forward to that!

 

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Great job, guys!

  1. Hardik Nagar says:

    Ah, the first step of de-cluttering is always the most difficult one.

    Always.

    I remember when I started cleaning my closet. I donated almost entire closed. And what remained was all the clothes that I love.

    I was so surprised and astonished. And felt divinely.

    Do check out my blog on minimalism. Would love to know another minimalist views on it 😀

  2. You inspire me! Today hubby and I cleared out nine (!) bags from our storage-laundry-wherealljunkgoes-room!
    Tack!!!!

    • SÅ bra gjort Sarah! Visst känner man sig lite lättare inombords när man gjort sig av med sånt man vet inte tillför något? Och trots att jag rensat MASSOR så syns det inte!

Leave a Reply

