Welcome to my minimalist home!

Or not!

I mean, yes, you are of course welcome, but looking at my home you would never know there’s a minimalist living here. Granted I am pretty new at this, but during the holidays I have been throwing away (or giving away) SO MUCH STUFF, and it doesn’t even show! Then again, I read somewhere that it takes eight months to get it all together. Right now, I am looking forward to August!

We do have a lot of storage in this apartment, and I used to like it. That was one of my fun things to do on a day off, organizing the storage. I also used to love having shelves, and nice boxes to put on the shelves. But since I started this journey, because I do understand it is a journey, I have learned that shelves and storage are your enemies. And nice boxes are nice, but I won’t have any more of them in my house.

My parents really think I am going crazy. They think this is just a phase and that I am going to throw everything away just to start over with new things, and they actually are feeling sorry for the kids who “won’t have any toys”. Their way of talking to me about my ideas would make me irritated before, I guess because I knew they were right. But this time it feels different on the inside, like it’s a very good thing that is happening, both to me and my family. I just wish my parents would see it too. But then again, it’s okay if they don’t. And I won’t be irritated because that would only be a waste of time.

So yes, I am looking forward to August. But I am also looking forward to the journey to get there.

And while I am on that journey, you are all welcome to my home!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Welcome to my minimalist home!

  1. And you are passing on your journey. THAT’S big!
    Believe in what you’re doing and for what reasons. Come August and you’ll have their blessing come through the back door instead of asking for it while performing on stage. And back door acknowledgement is so much better. You’re on to something good and I will encourage you the whole journey. Big hug!

  2. longskate87 says:

    Remember, you can throw everything away without replacing it, and that’ll drive your parents more crazy! Becoming a minimalist has allowed me a lot more freedom in life, including an easier time finding new apartments – no need for closets or a big garage.

  3. Less stuff makes it easier for me to breathe.

Leave a Reply

