Ch-ch-changes!

I am on the bus for work right now, and I was sitting here trying to be mindful while commuting, but my mind wanders and I ended up thinking about the changes we have gone through this past month, as a family.

I am amazed! For example, this week I have watched TV for 20 minutes, when my husband put it on to see the ice hockey finals. 20 minutes as opposed to the ~3 hours per day before. That is crazy! My kids haven’t asked once to watch TV…

Three weeks ago we also started eating extra vitamin D. Living in a country were we don’t get much sun during the winter, and not enough sun for most of the year, means that one of the biggest health issues is not having enough vitamin D. Perhaps I am just imagining the difference, perhaps it’s the placebo effect, but whatever it is I think it’s working. I don’t feel as tired during the days anymore, I don’t feel too tired in the evenings… My husband says the same thing. This might be the extra vitamins, or perhaps not watching TV, I don’t know but it sure feels good!

And! My husband and me are talking to each other without there being awkward silence. It took us a week, feeling stupid and like we didn’t have anything in common, and then we decided that’s not how we want it to be for the rest of our lives. Tonight we are going to listen to a podcast about a photographer whose photo exhibition we will go see in Stockholm this weekend. I am actually looking forward to tonight.

How’s that for change?!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ch-ch-changes!

  1. Wonderful wonderful wwww wwwwonderful!

  2. Tez says:

    I’m so happy for you, T!

Leave a Reply

