So how did it go with…

…me playing the mins-game

Well, it actually did go rather well, up until day eleven. Because that’s the day I went to Stockholm, and I didn’t throw anything away that weekend, except for a lot of money on great food. Of course I could have continued, but I see a clear pattern in this behavior of mine.

You see, when others start out small and throw away a pencil on day one and two odd socks on day two, I am all in from the beginning. I threw away one sack of broken toys the first day, gave away two bags of clothes the second day, and three boxes of toys the third day… Come day 10 I had given or thrown away enough stuff for three months worth of mins-game. And I haven’t really quit, it’s just that I have lost interest in telling people what I get rid of. I am tired of spending time taking pictures of it. In short, I just want it out, and fast! 

The thing is though, that I think I am the same way with everything. I am frantic for a while and then I just quit, and it seems that ten days is my time limit. I’ll eat healthy – for ten days. I’ll exercise – for ten days. I’ll do a challenge – for ten days….. This is actually an eye opener for me, because I have never thought about it before. 

However, now that I know – what will I do about it? I honestly don’t know.

But one thing is for sure, even though I have (kind of, sort of) lost the mins-game, and seem to have no stamina what so ever when it comes to seeing things through, I do feel like minimalism is here to stay. 

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to So how did it go with…

  1. Äsch, you maybe just needed to come up for some air… Keep going. Its the journey not the destination. Stor kram!

  2. Chelsie says:

    I completed one month of the mins game, and I admit I felt like I had come up for air after the month was finally over. It got a bit hectic. But I think the point of it is to challenge your mindset about consuming and to develop a new relationship with stuff. Instead of participating in the minsgame – maybe just make it a goal to donate/ toss one item per day. That’s still 365 things at the end of the year!

    • I agree, it’s not the game itself that is important, I feel my whole way of thinking about consuming has changed, like you said. I have made it a goal to bring at least a few things to work every day and give to someone, or give it to charity on my way home. It makes me happy, I feel lighter every day that passes!
      🙂

  3. Pingback: Pour another drink | Moving forward

  4. Pingback: The second wave of purging | Moving forward

  5. Listen to yourself. I think if you get wore out on day 10, maybe you didn’t pace yourself?
    Btw, I’ve been here lost on your site over an hour!

    • You are so right! I’ve come to realize that I’m like this with most things – I don’t last very long with anything, I just want to get it done fast! I’ll just tweak the rules for next time and end the game at day ten 😉

Leave a Reply

