Organization frenzy

There is one thing that I have learned two months into my life as a minimalist, and that is that my love for organizing my things has been put on hold for a while.

I used to love shelves and shelf systems. My favorite section in IKEA has always been the section of storage solutions. I even had this grand plan of putting up shelves in the bedroom even though I didn’t quite know what to store there, just because I liked the look of it and the thought of how useful it was to have lots of storage space.

But that has changed. My new goal for our house is to not have any extra shelves except for the built in ones, because that would mean I wouldn’t have anywhere to put a lot of stuff, and if I wouldn’t have anywhere to put it, then I wouldn’t accumulate it in the first place… I do understand that this is a utopia considering I have two children, but at least I can do my best in my parts of the house.

Today I sold one large bookshelf and a bench where you could store things in the seat. They were on (what in the states is called) craigslist for less than five minutes, and I sold them very cheap, but gone they are and now I will have to tackle what I had stored in them. (It does feel a bit overwhelming, which is why I have started the day with reading a few blogs about decluttering before I start cleaning)

The thing is that I have this premonition of how it will feel when I am done with our house. It will feel sweet. It will feel light. It will feel like a small bird fluttering inside my chest. I know, because I have already begun feeling it!

And shelves are not the main focus in my plans any more!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Organization frenzy

Leave a Reply

