Face – off

I visited a blog about two weeks ago and read about someone who had decided not to log on to Facebook for a week.

I thought this might be something to try, a fun little challenge to see if I could do without. I had felt for some time that Facebook didn’t really do anything for me, that it didn’t really add anything but rather took away from my time, even though I do enjoy writing sarcastic updates from time to time. I also enjoy reading articles that my friends post, even though I also spend too much time on the stupid vines that my old students shares with the world.

When I thought about it, I came to the conclusion that most of the people I was interacting with on Facebook were actually my co-workers, so I decided that because I see them everyday anyway, I may as well try this no-Facebook-thing.

One week later I had visited Facebook three times, because I was going to a party and the invitation was on Facebook and I didn’t have the address and… Ah, yes. But then I realized that I really didn’t need it as an app, as the app was the real problem, not Facebook itself. So I got rid of the app almost a week ago and haven’t felt the need to check my Facebook since. If I do get the itch I will have to make a decision to log in on a computer, and it feels good to have to make a deliberate decision to enter, not just check it by habit at all times.

Furthermore, now that I don’t connect with my colleagues at all times, we have more to talk about when we meet at work that isn’t work related. And I have decided to randomly stick my head into different rooms during next week, shouting my (former Facebook) updates and then leave, just so they won’t miss my sarcasm too much.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Simplifying and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Face – off

  1. Haley says:

    I deleted my Facebook in July because I thought it was a useless distraction. I was worried that I would miss out on events without it but I’ve found that people still reach out since they know I don’t have it. Deactivating is reversible if you ever want to try it for a bit!

    • I think just removing the app from my phone is enough for the time being. I think I’ve visited Facebook three times in total last week, once to ask if anyone wanted some of my stuff. It is great that way – you reach a lot of people really fast. But it has definitely freed up a lot of time for me, not having the app on the phone! I find myself reading more inspiring blogs or just being in the moment more. Which feels very good!
      Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

