Everything that remains by Joshua Fields Millburn & Ryan Nicodemus

I got my copy of Everything that remains the other day and eagerly started reading it. I had ordered it the same day it was released on Amazon, and it finally arrived just in time for me to take a break from clearing out closets and cabinets. This is a book that discusses many different areas of life and I loved it so much from the get go that I wanted to read it all in one day, but because there are many things to think about, I had to put it down and digest it a bit before continuing. But now, three days later, I am done.

Everything that remains is very well written, which feels fresh in a world were everything is supposed to be simple enough for everyone to “get it”. (I guess I have been reading quite a lot of young adult fiction lately, so perhaps that’s the biggest reason why this book felt more advanced). Some words I’d never heard of before, and I had to look them up,  but I actually enjoyed that, because I feel my English is lacking and I would love to work on my vocabulary and get better at expressing my thoughts. I also like the way it is written, with notes/comments by Nicodemus. I just wish he had even more comments because I think he’s funny.

Most of the stories in the book are not new to me. I may not have known about Millburn/Nicodemus for more than two months, but when I start something new I like to read all I can get my hands on, and some of these stories are told either on their website, or in the talk from Seattle that I watched on YouTube. That doesn’t really matter though, I still had a lot of new thoughts on different matters, and the stories are told in a way that partly feel like fiction, which I very much appreciate. The language flows in a way I am not sure I have ever read in a “self help” book before (I don’t think that’s what this even should be categorized as..?). The only chapter I have trouble believing is chapter 6, the one of Ryan’s packing party. Instead of reading life lessons, it’s more like one big lecture on relationships. I get it though, I think I’ve read enough books to see why this chapter turned out like it did, and it’s not like I didn’t enjoy it anyway.

There are many things to dwell upon, things I haven’t thought of before and things that really inspire me. My husband is going to read this book, we are going to have a lot to talk about, and then I am going to let some of my friends borrow it too. But then I want it back to read it once more. Or maybe twice. Because it feels like I am in love with this book, and I don’t want to give it away.

Not just yet, anyway.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in books, Minimalism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Everything that remains by Joshua Fields Millburn & Ryan Nicodemus

  1. Victoria says:

    I knew Joshua on Facebook before he became popular. And he lives in my home state. Awesome dude!

  2. I love these guys too! And got the audio book as well. I listened to it on my way to work and before bed. I recently signed up for free tickets for their tour when they swing through Baltimore 🙂 I am looking forward to it.

  3. Pingback: Six months of Challenge – Moving forward

Leave a Reply

