My stuff – the movie

The other week I read a post on a blog (sorry, I don’t remember where!) about this movie called My Stuff.

It is an experiment made by a Finnish guy who was feeling that there might be more to him than just his stuff. And so he sets out to see how much of his things he actually need for life to be, well, better. He starts by putting it all in storage and then he retrieves one thing per day. The experiment is for 365 days and during that time he can’t purchase anything (other than food, I assume).

Well, I read about the movie and then managed to see it, and I think it provokes some thoughts about things. I especially like the part in the end about his grandmother, not saying to much about that in this post though. Apart from being funny and thought provoking, I also liked the fact that it was in Finnish with English subtitles. Even though Finland once was a part of Sweden and it’s geographically very close, the languages are worlds apart! I had to be very present when I watched it, as I noticed once when my phone beeped and I checked it, I didn’t understand one iota, compared to when I watch movies in English (or Swedish, of course).

Just watch the trailer and see for yourselves!

 

 

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism, Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My stuff – the movie

  1. Mark says:

    Oh my goodness–how wonderful! I hope this film makes it to the US.

  2. I think it will, but I don’t know how easy it’ll be to get to see it 🙂
    http://mystuffmovie.com/

  3. I want to watch this movie! Where did you see it? Where can I find it? I want to make my husband watch it with me and the teenager 🙂

Leave a Reply

