Happy downsizing!

Yes! Today I got a call that I have been waiting and wishing for for almost two months. We’re moving!

The thought of a move started to form in early August, and then we tried to make it happen in October but that didn’t work out. We wanted to move into a smaller apartment, which usually isn’t the case for people at our age, but since our current place is as big as some houses around here, we wanted to do it the other way around. And today I got the call!

We will change apartments with our next door neighbor which calls for the easiest move in the history of “us”. Also, having given away things for almost two months makes thing a lot easier. And I am happy because I will definitely make this a packing party experience!

So why are we moving? The new apartment is still large, but there will be one less room to clean – the room we now more or less use as storage, where all the kids’ toys end up (on the floor), a room that we never use! The biggest perk though is of course the money we will save, or rather, that we won’t spend on a “storage room”. It’s almost $300 per month!

The money saved will be used for two things. One, paying of debt, mainly on the car which will be done in just a couple of months. Two, saving for our trip to Iceland (which we have postponed until next summer).

This makes me all giddy to think about, both the living smaller and saving money. Happy!!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Simplifying and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Happy downsizing!

  1. wsgilliam says:

    For some reason few people want to go to a smaller living space. It truly is more in a lot of ways.

  2. How exciting! I love moving! Its a great way to really get rid of it all. Or do I dare say it? A great time to “lose” some things. I have been reading about packing parties on the minimalist. My family will not let me do it to the whole house, but I flirt with it by doing it with my own things 🙂

  3. I love this trend – do you think it’s cyclical, meaning younger people will choose smaller and smaller homes for the next couple generations, then the large suburban houses will again look popular either due to economic growth or the perceived safety of the suburbs?

    Personally I love a small home – cheaper, less to clean, and no ‘room’ for the desire to fill unused space with extra furniture!

    • I don’t know, one could always hope. The thing is though that I haven’t heard too much about downsizing here in Sweden, I guess in some ways we do live a simpler life (?) but I also think that the consuming is starting to get out of hand… What people tend to spend the most money on are probably their living situation, just bigger houses and designer furniture, getting deeper and deeper into debt just to be able to renovate and have a magazine home. I wish more people could see the benefits of not having too much, but it feels like we have a long way to go. I think that if this gets really big in the States, Sweden will follow, because we always do, with some delay. (and yes, then it will probably take some time and the gran kids in the future will want to have more for their children than they grew up with…. Interesting, that)

      I’m with you! 🙂

  4. Angela says:

    I’ve never been to Iceland but pictures looks amazing! What a perfect reason to downsize.

Leave a Reply

