Half, and then half again

I am sure I am down to half, right now.

People who read a lot about downsizing and minimalism know what I mean with my headline, it feels like it’s repeated all over the Internet (and probably elsewhere too). It’s a “rule” of downsizing, and I don’t know it’s origin, but it feels like it is true; Get rid of half of what you own, and then half of what is left.

One might think getting rid of half of what you own would be enough, and as I said, I have probably done that right now, but it doesn’t seem enough too me. I still have a lot of things that make me think that I could get rid of 50% more.

It is kind of stressing me out, but I think that is mostly because the last few days have been very lonely. My husband has been working a lot and I can’t both entertain kids and pack/remove things. But I have done just that anyway. It’s not my most relaxed holiday so far, but I think it’ll be worth it in the end. Heck, I know it’ll be worth it!!

So half gone, half to go.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Simplifying and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Half, and then half again

  1. Emily says:

    I’m way behind you on getting rid of stuff but I do so know what you mean. Somehow, getting rid of half let’s you see the remainder in a new light, and gives the confidence to cull even further. Good luck with it.

    • It’s crazy, I was really confident that I had gotten rid of so much, but while I am packing everything today I realize how much is left! Who needs 25 towels?!! Oh I am so unpacking it straight to donation!
      Thanks for reading!

  2. I’m not downsizing, but I am on a decluttering kick. I love using “half” as a goal, especially when I have a lot of something. It gives me an exact measure of success; got 8 sets of placemats? Get rid of half, and 4 sets is still more than enough. I’m not sure I could do half AGAIN on some things though…
    Good luck!

    • For me it’s not specific like the amount of _____ (insert something) but just Everything! I think it’s a good way of decluttering though that I will use in the future if things would accumulate again. Hopefully it won’t!
      Thank you for reading and good luck to you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

