Packing party with a twist – day 1

So today is the big move! Let me tell you two things about moving; one – I hate it, two – I hate cleaning when I am moving.

Anyways, things are packed but not as well as I had planned. The boxes I am probably going to unpack first are not easy to reach, and there’s a mishmash of things everywhere.

There you have twist number one; number two is doing this with kids. Interesting to say the least.

Ah well. It’s an experiment and as I unpack I will be sorting the stuff into the piles; keep, give, and throw. I am confident I will get rid of a lot.

I just don’t have a clue of where to start.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Cleaning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Packing party with a twist – day 1

  1. I know you will figure it out! I am excited for your fresh start!

  2. Mark says:

    Good luck! Moving is a big deal–hang in there!

  3. Anne Lene says:

    If you want to purge as you unpack, make sure you have a out-the-door box/plastic bag sitting next to you as you unpack, and even a “not sure” box.

    Then you can – as soon as you grab something from the pile and realise “why on earth did I pack this, I don’t need this” – you can toss it into the trash or maybe box right away. And when it’s full, take it outside right away, and as you unpack boxes, you will have more “out-the-door” boxes ready to fill 😉

    • I did just that! I sent my mother home with three big blue ikea bags full with stuff for the flea market at her job, one bag is going to charity tomorrow and one BIG bag is going to our summer house, with stuff that we’ll be needing there once the season of sleeping over starts. And, I still have nine (9!) boxes to go through. And bags. I think I’m doing a great job so far!

Leave a Reply

