Packing party with a twist – or not.

Ah, who am I kidding? This has not been a packing party at all!

First of all, all I did was pack and then unpack, and it hasn’t been feeling like a party at any point of this move. I don’t think it’s possible to even have a packing party in its true sense (the Ryan Nicodemus way) when you have a family to take are of.

What I did do is this though. I packed all my things. I tried to give away as much as possible but didn’t really have time to go through all things properly. So when I unpacked I packed some things straight into a give-away bag. Fortunately my parents came by yesterday and helped out a bit, and so my mother took two large IKEA bags with her for her yard sale benefiting the old people’s home she’s working at. Hubby is taking two bags to our local Goodwill store today. And then I only have nine more boxes to unpack!

The great thing about this is definitely the kitchen – I have so much space in my cabinets! I haven’t even filled it all, and there’s still things that are going next time I send hubby to Goodwill.

There’s one thing I am not ready for though, and that is going back to work today! All my lessons are unplanned to say the least, but I think I’ll manage. I always do…

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Simplifying and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Packing party with a twist – or not.

  1. Who says you have to do it like Ryan?!? You all are doing an amazing job!! If it’s working for you then it is the right way! Congrats on all of your forward movement! Happy minimalizing!

    • I know, I just thought his idea was so great I wanted to do it myself. Otherwise I am thinking that each minimalist has his own way, and I think I am doing a good job getting there 🙂
      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

