Goodbye favorite books?!

I’ve written about it before and this probably won’t be the last time either that I talk about the one thing that really defines me – my beloved books!

Or is it really the one thing that defines me? How sad would that be, if that was true? It is difficult to define one self though…

However, that was not what I was thinking about today. My books. They are all packed down. The ones I didn’t give away before moving are the ones I really love.

Or are they? Right now they are sitting in boxes and can’t really be unpacked until the apartment has been renovated. We are waiting for this to happen, but we haven’t got a clue on when it will happen. Some time between now and June, is what we’ve been told. And even though the books aren’t harming anyone, they are kind of weighing me down.

It’s weird, something you love is making you feel heavier…

Now I read this blog (this one) and this guy talked about chucking ALL your books for a Kindle. His arguments were good and made me actually want one even though I’ve never before considered reading a book on anything but paper. And now I’ve ordered one! I’ve had it delivered to my friend’s house in Vegas because the price was one third off if I bought it in the US instead of in Sweden, and I am picking it up in April – I am SO excited and cannot wait until I get to try it out!

And that brings us back to the books that I love. I am not sure why I need to hold on to them, why I need to feel like I own them. If I want to re-read them I can do so on my *excited squeal* Kindle, but so far I haven’t had time to read them again because there are so many books in the world and I just don’t have enough time for them all!

I think I’ve decided in my heart to give them all away, there’s just one tiny problem – who will get my babies? Who will love and cherish them as I do?

Until I figure it out I will keep them in their boxes.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Goodbye favorite books?!

  1. noirfifre says:

    NOOOO , books are meant forever :P. I too, I’m getting a kindle but my paper stays with moi.

  2. candidkay says:

    Hmmm. Bit of a dinosaur. I work all day on a laptop so reading a book on a Kindle screen feels like work. I also love the smell of the pages of a book, its heft in my hand, the sound of the turn of a page. Old school, I guess . . .

    • I’m a teacher so the screen thing is not a problem. Also I’m thinking I am going to go more often to the library instead of owning the paper versions. I do love the paper smell though…. Perhaps I’ll buy books in the future too but then just give them away. Books that haven’t been read for ten years could make someone else happier πŸ™‚

  3. I was like you for so long. I was very anti kindle. I loved the feel and the smell of a proper book. However, since getting my iPad my views changed and I just love it. Still haven’t managed to get rid of all of my excess books though!! Definitely a work in progress!

    • It definitely is. One small step at a time, tomorrow I am donating my Neil Gaiman Sandman comic books to the school library. Perhaps another twisted kid can enjoy them for a bit πŸ˜‰

  4. Anne Lene says:

    I’m reading myself through the bookshelves, and plan is to only keep the ones I love, know I will read again and again, or can’t stand to loose for sentimental reasons. I do use Kindle on my iPad, but there is something about a physical book…..

  5. I know, I still have ~90 books that I haven’t read, so I am trying to give those a chance before giving them away. I bought a kindle paperwhite which is supposed to be working well even in the sun. I’ll know more in seven weeks, until then I am reading as much as I can πŸ˜‰

  6. April Tharp says:

    This is something I also recently decided to do. I currently own twenty-five novels. I own a Kindle Fire, but I’ve always found the display to be too bright, even on the lowest setting. I’ve looked at the Kindle Paperwhite and I think it’s the e-reader for me: It doesn’t emit any light through the screen, it’s fairly cheap, it’ll keep me from having to order books online and waiting for them to arrive in the mail or traveling one and a half hours to the nearest bookstore, and it’ll keep all of my books in one device and reduce clutter.

    I could also put my library card to use more. At least then I could still relish in the smell and feel of books. If I remember correctly, I’ve only checked out five books within the last year. I’m ashamed of myself.

    • I don’t think I’ve been to the library to get a book for myself during this lady year at all, but my students and colleagues lend me books very often and I never seem to have time to read my own πŸ˜‰ I just finished a book called “The Buddha in the attic” that I borrowed from a student, turns out it’s the author’s second book, so now I want my kindle (three weeks to go!) even more to be able to purchase and read that one too! πŸ™‚

  7. I used to be obsessive about keeping books, but over the past few years I’ve slowly been letting some of them go. The test? I pick one up to reread. If I reread it and still love it, it stays. If I don’t still connect with it, it goes. And if for whatever reason to can’t even be bothered to read it again, it’s definitely out.

    • I just find that I’m such a slow reader it takes too much time for me to reread my books. Still, I have a couple that I would love to read again, and they’re staying πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

