The Great Sock Purge And More

I have been walking around for a week feeling like a zombie, all due to the move. Then when I finally get some energy back, I puuuuuurge!

I decided to get my husband’s closet in order and threw out seven socks without a partner. (I also told him I won’t be buying him anything new when I go to Vegas unless he gets rid of some t-shirts. He has so many, I could hardly fit them in one shelf.)

Then I moved on to the kids’ rooms and got rid of six and seven lonely socks in each closet. Where do all the stray socks go anyway?

In my closet I went kind of nuts. I hate all my clothes, truly. They don’t fit well, they have all been colored in the washing machine by something blueish, and they just look boring. So I threw most of it out. I have NO idea what I’m going to wear for six weeks before I go shopping for clothes in Vegas, but I’m just going to make do with the ones that are left. Even though I hate them.

I didn’t just get rid of clothes this weekend, I also gathered two boxes for charity and made a decision to get rid of most things in the basement. We actually made a switch today with the neighbors, where they got our old one, like it should be when you move.

Unfortunately the new one smells like mold. It’s bad, and I don’t want to keep anything down there. This means I need to organize stuff in the apartment so that I won’t need to keep it in the basement, like for example our suitcases. That is going to be a difficult one, but still, I don’t want them down there smelling bad.

I only wish for the company that we rent from to actually come and fix the walls for us because the “lovely” wallpaper we inherited is making me depressed. I do not like yellow and gold leaves combined with green trees in a living room, or dark red and gold in the hallway. And it’s difficult getting things in order when you know someone is making renovations soonish.

So I purge. That’s what I can do to prepare. And I am getting real good at it!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Simplifying and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

