This is me being down

Eating cheese and watching TV, I am feeling down and am not liking my life right now. The worst thing about that sentence is that there’s really no reason. I just get depressed at times and I never know why until I emerge on the other side.

Every time this happens I start feeling discontent with life, and start looking for a way out, not just for me but for the whole family. In my life, “a way out” means away from my job (which I usually love), away from Sweden (which is understandable considering the weather) and away from obligations. I just want to sit on a beach, with my family, having quality time.

Of course I always have a lot of excuses why this could never happen, the main ones being: a) money, b) school for the kids (I’ve mentioned before that I would love to homeschool my kids but that it is forbidden by law to do so in Sweden), and c) well, money again.

Those are my excuses and I don’t know how to get out of my own head. One step would be to actually talk to my husband about this dream and then look it up – if we wanted it, how could we make it happen? If someone out there is reading this who’ve done something like this – how did you go about it?

I don’t feel like I’m on the other side yet, and I’m not sure eating cheese and watching TV does the trick, but for now it’ll do.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This is me being down

  1. Anne Lene says:

    It’s probably the “post move blues” that are getting you a little šŸ™‚ when things are not all sorted quite sorted out, and you haven’t settled into the new place yet. Give it another day or two and you’ll be right back to normal šŸ˜‰

    On the other hand – I do get the wish for a different life (a way “out”), those thoughts have hit me at times to, a wish for less materialistic, less stress, a life more in touch with who we are or want to be, rather than what life/society “demands” of us (e.g. work for “money”, no homeschooling) There are times I wish I win the lottery, so I didn’t “have” to work for money šŸ˜‰ then I could have spent my time on helping others through non profit organisations…. or started my own non profit…. (This is my “wishful thinking” ) then again… One if these days šŸ˜‰

  2. Winning the lottery is not the answer… Just saying… It’s deeper and bigger and far more difficult than that. And it’s a process. I look at you and see how FAR you have come. Keep going… Keep dreaming… Keep doing… You have it within you. Always had! Big hug xx

Leave a Reply

