What my wish list looked like

I wrote down a couple of tings in December that I wanted to accomplish for the new year, or rather, for life. I hadn’t planned on sharing them, but then I decided I should at least share my hopes with my husband, so one evening in the beginning of December we sat down with my list.

This is what I wanted:

I want more quality in life. It’s supposed to be about being present, not always striving after more things.

I want to be able to talk to my husband about other things than kids and economy.

I want to be more creative. I also want my kids to want that rather than always playing with their electronic gadgets.

I want less things and a smaller place to live. I believe less things will give us more time to be happy, and a smaller place is less to clean, which means more time.

I want the stuff in my home to be stuff that I have chosen to be there, not just things accumulated by accident.

I want all things in my home to be things that I love.

I want to spend more time with my kids. Happy time, not the angry time we usually have at the end of the day when everyone is tired.

I want to throw out the TV because it doesn’t do anything for this family. Not really.

I want to travel more.

I want to be able to talk with my husband without having to think about being misunderstood or him being hurt. I don’t want to have to chose my words carefully, I want us to trust that neither of us are trying to say things to harm each other.

I want to make boring stuff more simple. Like cooking, because I hate it!

I want to quit spending money on buying unnecessary things.

I want to want the same for the future as my husband.

Three months later I’d say it feels very good to have written down and shared my thoughts because that made them real. How could he ever know what I was thinking if I didn’t tell him? Now we both know what to strive for, because he agreed on everything and also wanted these things for us. I am really starting to believe in the power of writing things down because I see that it helps.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in dreams, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What my wish list looked like

  1. It is nice to find people who are wanting the same and similar things! No matter if they are on the other side of the world!

  2. Deimos Apex says:

    Great post! If you were to replace the word ‘husband’ with ‘wife’ I would swear this was something I could have written. Sounds like moving forward you and your family will be much happier and will become much closer. Keep it up and good luck!

    • Thank you! I think we all are feeling the benefits allready, and the whole family sure see the change in ME, and if I’m happier, the whole household is happier 😉

Leave a Reply

