Buying and selling

It’s been a quick week at work with many preparations for the students for some important tests that are starting next week. I have also been eating a lot of pills to try and get rid of a migraine that’s been lurking for over a week, and those are the reasons to why I’ve not given my blog any real attention.

Having lived in the new place for three weeks, this is what I’ve learned:

A) the mix of dark, patterned wallpapers, in colors I would never ever choose, are affecting me in a really bad way. They are making it very difficult for me to relax when I get home from work. The company we rent from say they will fix the walls before summer, but that is a looooong time looking at these walls.

B) my daughter needed some proper way to store her clothes. With no wardrobe in her room, and no room really to put a wardrobe if we bought one, her clothes were spread all over. We found a good solution on (what in America is called) Craigslist. So we bought that bed and storage-solution and fixed her room again. It turned out great, but made some bookshelves redundant and so I put them and her old bed up for sale. And sold it all within the hour! Yeah, I didn’t ask for much but it still turned out to cover a third of what we paid for her new furniture, and that feels great!

I still have four unpacked boxes, but I can’t unpack them since the walls are so horrible and if they are fixing up the apartment there’s no use in unpacking anyway. So that is also getting on my nerves. The people who lived here before us had done such a bad job at redecorating, painting over light switches, for example, and it makes me feel sick to have to live with ugly things. I know I sound so ungrateful, and I guess I am, but just because I don’t want a lot of things in my home that doesn’t mean I don’t want my home to be beautiful and relaxing. As it is right now I can’t even see what this place could look like in the future, the patterns and colors are too overwhelming.

Enough with the complaining. I’m leaving you with pictures of the walls of my home. Some might actually like this, but me personally are used to – and love! – the Scandinavian all white and clean walls, so for me this is torture.

20140315-202903.jpg

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Simplifying and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buying and selling

  1. Pingback: Swedes talk about the weather aaaaaall the time! | Moving forward

  2. Pingback: Welcome to my home! | Moving forward

Leave a Reply

