Back in business!

Yes, after four weeks without internet at home, I am now back in business!

Actually I haven’t missed it all that much, except for being able to blog on a computer instead of using my phone. It is far more convenient to write with both hands instead of just clicking away with one finger. Since we also have TV through the computer and internet (I don’t know how that works… except that it hasn’t the last four weeks), my husband is now very happy in the evenings again. For me, that is not something I have missed, again, not watching TV. What I have done is read a few more books than usual. 

Another thing that we also have gone without since the move is a dishwasher. Now this is interesting. Before the kids, the one thing we used to argue about was who was going to do the dishes. So we bought a dishwasher and it was almost okay. we still had some fights about who’s turn it was to empty the dishwasher… So when we moved and found out there was no dishwasher in the new apartment, I braced myself, thinking this is going to cause some friction! It didn’t. 

No friction over doing the dishes. For a month! How crazy is that?! Turns out I quite enjoy doing the dishes. If you do them right away after you’ve eaten, then there won’t be a lot to clean. And also, if you have cleared out the cabinets, you kind of have to do the dishes right away, otherwise you don’t have any plates to eat from the next time. So yeah, this has not been a problem at all, and I am almost sad to see the new dishwasher that arrived today. 

I guess what I wanted to say is that I can go without both the internet and a dishwasher, but since I am not the only person in this household, I won’t. Feels good though, knowing that I’m not depending on these things to feel at ease at home.

And by the way. The book I just finished today, The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka, was really good. Check it out!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in books, Cleaning, Simplifying and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Back in business!

  1. Welcome back to computer land 🙂

  2. Anne Lene says:

    No internet for the computer? well I’m not so sure I would have managed with only my phone for 4 weeks, It’s way better to write my posts on the computer rather than phone – fortunately I can use the phone as a “wireless” 😉 anyhow – welcome back to internet land!

    On a different note – I just nominated you for a Liebster Award. Check it out here – http://minimalistsometimes.com/2014/03/24/woohoo-a-liebster-award/. Hope you don’t mind, I just thought it a great way to have other people find you just like I have – have wonderful week!

  3. I know she nominated you for one…but I had to pick you too!!!! 🙂 But you can answer her questions instead of mine since she got you first. I just think you are fantastic and more readers your way the better!

  4. Congratulations on your move and your new internet connection! That book is on my to-read list! I’m actually challenging myself to read 50 books by my birthday, so it might end up being one of them, thanks for the recommendation! It’s funny how we have to go through these things to get ourselves to read more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

