I confess – I’ve been consuming.

I have bought things today. The sun is out, the sky is blue, and the shopping mode is on!

No, not really. I could have skipped the smoothie I bought for lunch, it was okay but not worth the money. But I was hungry and I thought it would be better than eating fast food, and I guess it was. I do think that I have become really good at not buying, not giving in to temptations, not spending money on stuff and food that I don’t need. Every time I feel the urge of spending, I think about what I’ve read on The Minimalists about spending money, and then I don’t feel like spending any more.

For instance, they write about how much things cost compared to how much time you have to spend at work to pay for that thing. For example, coffee. Here in Sweden a cappuccino costs a bit over $5, which in my eyes is waaaaaaay too much. and still I indulge sometimes. The key word here though is sometimes. I used to drink coffee out much more, but then I started thinking about how many hours of work those coffees where, and suddenly I just didn’t crave them any more. Not that not drinking coffee lets me work less, I still need to be there the hours that I need to be there. Although in the long run, I can save some money and take a day off if I want to, which is worth so much more than drinking a cappuccino.

But then sometimes the sky is blue, it’s warm outside, you have 13 days before you’re leaving for Las Vegas and you need a pair of stockings (you know, to prevent you from having thrombosis (which is a word I just looked up) on the plane). And then – I buy!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Simplifying and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I confess – I’ve been consuming.

  1. Anne Lene says:

    You know – it’s allowed to indulge sometimes, after all we gotta live a little 🙂 but you’re right, the key word is sometimes 😉

Leave a Reply

