Sleep deprived and stressed out

– just checking in to say “Hi!”

I have never before been affected by daylight saving time, but this year it has been terrible. I am guessing it’s a sign that I’m getting older. 

Daylight saving time here in Sweden was the night between Saturday and Sunday, and since then I’ve been able to sleep about 4,5 hours per night, which is way too little for me who am used to sleep 8 hours per night. This incidentally coincided with the important tests that my students had, which means I have heaps of correcting to do. I imagine being stressed out hasn’t really helped with the sleep, even though I usually don’t lose sleep over my job. I’ve been walking around like a zombie all week, and interacting on the internet has, of course, not been a priority.

Now, for a person trying to downsize and live simple, I have done something this week that is just the opposite of that. I have bought a small house. Yes, you heard me. We live in an apartment and you can buy a small house with a garden to grow things if you want to, and we wanted to so we did. It’s not crazy, actually. What’s crazy is that we already own a summer house. So we have a bigger house with a large garden, 70 minutes away from home, and now we have a small house and a small garden 10 minutes from home. That is actually a bit crazy, and it might sound even crazier when I say this is because we want to downsize.

The summer house is actually on the market, we have a realtor who is working on getting it sold because we don’t have time to go there as often as we wanted to. Okay, so far so good. And we actually thought we’d wait with buying a small house until after we sold the big one, but then there was this opportunity to buy a house in an area where we really wanted to have a house… And that’s how it went down. Not very minimalist, owning a few properties (?) but yeah. 

Anyway! I am looking forward to coming home from Vegas and being able to spend my weekends growing my own veggies! The small property actually also has a greenhouse, how great is that! I might be able to eat a bit more organic, home grown things, and that feels very cool, and I am looking forward to diving into learning about growing things!

Okay. I am going to stop ranting. I just wanted to visit my blog (because I miss it when I don’t have time!) and wave to the people who read. 

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Simplifying, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sleep deprived and stressed out

  1. Anne Lene says:

    Congrats, having a small house with a small garden is a wonderful thing, it’s what I have, and I love my place. And I’m sure you will love yours to, congrats, well deserved 🙂

  2. Kristin Maillard says:

    Congratulations on your small house. When I was a home owner I also thought it wiser to have a house that gives you a bit of everything you want – that “out in the country” feeling that comes from digging in the earth and the convenience of being in the city. It doesn’t take much. Best of luck selling your larger place.

  3. Pingback: Swedes talk about the weather aaaaaall the time! | Moving forward

Leave a Reply

