Project 333

I’m back!

I’ve actually been back for five days, but my energy has been focused on family and work, much as it was before I left. The difference is that spending time away from your family, in the sun, eating great food, reading by the pool, talking to friends and, yes, shopping, has made me feel so re-energized! Also, knowing that it is eight weeks until the summer holiday starts, makes a difference to the bounce in my step!

Now, about shopping. I could have spent money on so many things while I was in Vegas, but I was on a mission and didn’t distract from that almost at all. Yes, I bought my husband a turquoise Crosley turntable, but it was gorgeous and he had wanted a record player for two years and I have been planning on giving him one for just as long, so I thought, why not buy one that I can enjoy looking at? Other than that I bought mainly clothes and make up.

The thing is though, I hate shopping! Really! So even though I bought a lot of clothes according to my standards, I’m still left with almost nothing. I wanted to participate in Courtney Carver’s Project 333, which basically is about having 33 pieces of clothing and accessories and combining them for three months. Am I really the only woman in the world who can’t even find 33 items in my wardrobe to start with??! I am supposed to box up clothes that are out of season but what I wear is what I wear all year round. And I don’t love any of it!

So I had to do some shopping and still I didn’t have 33 things that I love! So I’ve been shopping some more today. How very minimalist and simple I am living! But I think I’m getting there and the best part is that I am shopping with the Carver rules in mind, so I am getting things that are basic and that I can combine, and suddenly people are telling me how great I look and it feels pretty nice to actually get compliments for once.

Who knew dressing nicer and putting on make up would make you feel better?! (Actually, a lot of people knew this, I’m just slow on catching on….)

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Project 333, Shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Project 333

  1. Anne Lene says:

    Ok, so you gotta tell me, what IS in your closet? I’ve been thinking about maybe doing a 333 project – I was thinking later this year, but maybe I should do it sooner rather than later! I’m working on my closet to widle it down to only 1 metre of closet space, with leftover soace… but i still need a little extra widle to get there.

    Would be interesting to know what you keep, considering you needed to go shopping to fill up the 33… 🙂

    • Anne Lene says:

      Ok, leftover space – is what I meant to write (darn spellchecker suddenly switched to Norwegian and messed up my English words) 🙂

      • I am thinking I will do a post on this soonish. I just hope to get some pictures in the mix too, but perhaps I can start on a list. I am very happy about it so far, even though I don’t have 33 items yet 😀

        • Anne Lene says:

          A post would be great 🙂

          I think I’m going to do a version like this: clear out as much as possible from my full cabinet, empty an adjoining closet. Then move the cloths as I use them, from my full cabinet over in my empty closet. And them see what I end up actually using the next couple of months. That should give me an idea, what actually I need to keep! 😉

  2. lethally says:

    I’m finding that my Project 333 is taking a while to figure out. I’m just in the first Phase of it, working out my first 33 items for the first 3 months. But yes, I have a lot of gaps too, and have to figure out what works and what doesn’t.

    I also think I’m going to have to accept that I am NOT a white shirt person, despite the fact that EVERY fashion advisor tells women we have to have a white shirt in our wardrobe. I just feel too BLAH in plains. I love patterns.

    I don’t think you’re alone in not having 33 items at all. What I found is I had about 60 items to get boxed which I really didn’t wear and could never see myself wearing, and about 20 items that I actually *do* wear. Where Project 333 has been brilliant is it became immediately clear to me what I like wearing, where the gaps in my wardrobe actually were (as opposed to where Fashion told me they were), and how much I really don’t need. I’m also, bizarrely enough, dressing a whole lot better despite most of what I owned being boxed up. Go figure.

    Thanks for sharing your project – I’d love some photos and for you to continue sharing! 🙂

  3. Pingback: A new go -Project 333 – Moving forward

Leave a Reply

