Swedes talk about the weather aaaaaall the time!

We do! “Talk” may be the wrong term. “Complain” seems more accurate most of the time. Too cold, too windy, to cloudy, too hot. But really, right now, I see no reason to complain! The weather people has declared summer in the south of Sweden where I live, which should concern me in terms of global warming and such, but when you’ve had winter for six months, summer kinda feels good!

I can hardly talk about the weather without saying that it totally changes the way I spend my spare time. A couple of weeks ago I wrote about buying a small house, and since then I’ve learned that it’s called an allotment, in English. Yeah, it’s our garden away from the apartment, and we’ve been spending a lot of time there since our summertime weather started, working like mad men to fight ground elder and stinging nettles so that we can rest knowing that things aren’t spreading to the neighboring allotments. In fact, we’ve hardly been at home at all the last week, which surely gives a taste of what summer will be this year.

Being outside makes all of us happier, because we don’t have to see the ugly walls at home, which is a relief! The company we rent from think we will get them fixed during the summer, but I’m not counting on it since people have vacations during the summer and all things tend to be postponed. Fine, I can live with the walls since I am not at home, but that means that we still have unpacked boxes, and I can’t really go through them until I know if things have a place in my home, or not. I think I’ve mentioned that before, I just think I needed to say it again because it really irritates me! I want to see what I have and have no more than I see!

So I guess my simplifying this summer will be spending less time at home, not unpacking and instead taking care of the things I am growing at the allotment. Let’s just hope the weather will continue the way it started!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swedes talk about the weather aaaaaall the time!

  1. Anne Lene says:

    Norwegian do to 😉 talk about the weather that us 😉 I mean who wouldn’t lining where we do! I get why you will be spending your time outside of the house. You gotta enjoy the heck out of the weather as long as it is as nice as it is now! I get it, trust me, I get it 😉

Leave a Reply

