The second wave of purging

Since March I haven’t really done any donating at all, I hit a plateau and didn’t know how to move past it, so I just let things be.

Now, with the beginning of May and summer around the corner, I feel my energy and will to purge arise! So I’m joining in on the mins-game, trying it out for the second time this year. Last time I gave away so many bags and boxes full of things, but ended early anyway because of being lazy. I just didn’t find that taking pictures of all the stuff I gave away added anything to my life. I guess that is a good lesson learned so this time I know my limits and will be a pretty boring participant, which means there will be no pictures of the stuff I give away. You’ll just have to take my word for it! 

Since today is day three in the game, this is what I have gotten rid of so far:
1. A pair of uncomfortable shoes in great condition – Goodwill
2. The last of my daughter’s baby clothes that I had saved to give away, but now I just didn’t want to hold on to them anymore so I kissed all those small things goodbye and gave it to Goodwill. (more than two items)
3. A broken toy airplane that my son (of course?) didn’t want any more – threw it away, a bag of clothes my daughter has outgrown – Goodwill, and the lawnmower that came with the allotment, because I actually think it was too big for the garden. Sold it on Craigslist within five minutes (so it was probably too cheap) and made some money towards our dream to go to Iceland next summer. 

I already have a few things lined up for the next couple of days, so I hope to at least manage past day eleven, which is where I ended last. And I hope to beat my friend over at magnolia-bliss.com in the process. Nothing like playing a game where you actually play against someone! (Just kidding of course, I hope she wins ;-))

Time to cook some kind of dinner for the kids and then move on to see what’s outgrown in my son’s closet. Man do they grow up fast!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The second wave of purging

  1. Anne Lene says:

    That’s pretty adventurous, doing the calculation, that’s 496 items in one month.

    I’m not sure I could do that, I just went a little “amok” today and created a pile of stuff that I’ll count up and post about tomorrow. But I sure aren’t going to get close to that many items in a month, even if I continued to go a little “amok” every day 😉

  2. My Light Bag says:

    Wow I don’t think I could get rid of so many things – partly because I’ve decluttered so much over the years already. Good luck! I hope you make space and peace in your home.

    • I am just getting started, or so it feels, even though I’ve been giving away TONS of stuff. But I don’t think I’ll have a problem this time around, it feels so good!
      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

