My new love affair

I don’t remember who wrote the post that got me the idea to seek out my new love in the first place, but I would like to thank him from the bottom of my heart! We are inseparable, my love and me.

As I wrote in great anticipation before my trip, I would pick up my Kindle Paperwhite from Amazon when I went to Vegas. It didn’t take very long to figure out that if I don’t hold back, I will be spending a lot of money on books from now on. Not that I didn’t do that before, but then I had to hold back because my husband saw how many packages were arriving at our door step. Now he can’t see that with one click I have a new book in my reader within a second, and that is dangerous! It’s so fast, I don’t have to wait for my books to arrive, it doesn’t take up space in the apartment and I’m not even missing the feel of paper! I’m amazed and in love, and I am making my mother sew a case for it in some nice fabric. Yes, it most definitely is a love affair!

So far I’ve read Divergent and Insurgent by Veronica Roth (I’m young at heart, loving fiction for young adults and trying hard not to buy the last part of the trilogy just yet), When the Emperor was Divine by Julie Otsuka (second book I’ve read from her, but her debut – liked it a lot ) and Clutterfree with Kids by Joshua Becker (more on that one later).

Because my Kindle doesn’t weigh anything, and doesn’t require two hands, nor light since it is lit by itself, it just fits perfectly to bring everywhere. And I do bring it everywhere, all the time.

Ahhh, to be in love with a thing, how very minimalist.

Speaking of things, this is what I’ve shed for the mins-game during the last two days:
Yesterday: Threw away two of my daughter’s sweaters that were ruined but that she still held on to, also threw away a pair of leaking rubber boots and a pair of out grown, ruined sneakers that were my son’s.
Today: Three wallets of different designs that nobody was using, an old shell for a cellphone and a whoopee cushion – all donated.

Now. The best thing about Mondays. New episode of Game of Thrones – the only TV-show I watch.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in books, Minimalism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My new love affair

  1. Pingback: Six months of Challenge – Moving forward

Leave a comment