It’s not that easy!

I didn’t think that playing the Minimalist Game this month would be difficult since I’m in the mood to throw stuff away. Boy was I wrong!

I have done a LOT of decluttering during January and February, and now it seems I only have some odd stuff left. Just look at my list for the last couple of days:

7. a bag of clothes from my son’s closet – donated, and more than seven items. When one is short of time to make the deadline of the game I guess it’s easy to turn to the kids’ rooms…
8. a multi-tool-thingy that was a gift from someone, a bread basket, a glass jar, three plastic lids for some sort of IKEA-boxes that I can’t find, two books.
9. the hose to a broken vacuum cleaner that we threw away a long time ago, two lamps, a sweater and five more books. Trying to be realistic with the books. The ones I have at home are those I haven’t read, but then again, some of them still don’t appeal to me, so I decided to add the titles I might want to read later to my Amazon wishlist, and then get rid of them.
10. two expired Soda stream bottles, a toiletry bag, a cup belonging to a game that I seem to have misplaced, a tube with something that’s for painting glass (which I can’t remember to have ever done), three mini birthday candles, a dried out pen, last year’s IKEA catalog (which I usually hold on to for at least a couple of years..)

Are these odd things or what?! I just decided to empty a bag that wasn’t unpacked yet, and it turned out to hold a lot of crap! It’s just a lot of junk, and really, I thought I was past the finding-junk-at-home phase, but I’m clearly not. So, I’ll continue playing the game and if I can get rid of 400-something crappy things, well then I guess that’s 400-something less crappy things in my home…

But it sure isn’t easy to find all these stupid things when my brain keeps interrupting with “but I might need those….” (or when I think that I actually don’tย haveย any crappy things left when clearly – I do!)

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s not that easy!

  1. Anne Lene says:

    You’re doing pretty good, if you ask me ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m impressed! But I agree with you, it is harder and harder to find stuff. I’ve only been at it “hard core” this year, but the last couple or three years together, I have gotten rid of “half a house”… So it gets more difficult as I move along in my declutter task.

    I’m sure though, that both you and me will make it ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. You are an inspiration. I think you and I are at a similar point where we have gotten rid of so much. All the low hanging fruit is gone. I think with the family sometimes just because I can leave without something, does not mean they can leave without something. So often I feel selfish for wanting to get rid of something they all might want.

    • Ha! Thanks! I don’t feel that inspiring right now ๐Ÿ˜‰ but I think you’re right – we’ve been soooo good so far this year! And yes, I can’t throw away everything even though I’d like to, the family would not agree. Still, they do let me get my hands on quite a lot, I think they are all getting it!
      ๐Ÿ™‚
      Loved the pic of the pie… YUMM!!

  3. My Light Bag says:

    It’s surprising how much clutter we actually own without realising it! I’ve been decluttering for four years and still find junk in my home now and again. it’s an ongoing process!

Leave a Reply

