More boxes to give away

Trying to simplify at home without the help of ones partner has to be tough.

My husband “got it” after just a few weeks, and for that I’m thankful. I guess he didn’t want to become his parents. Once we helped his father to get rid of over thirty jackets, and when we were done he still had more than we could count. He said he needed them for “when he’s working around the house”. There was nothing we could say to convince him that he really didn’t need ten jackets to paint the house, something that’s usually done every ten years, in the summer, when no jacket is needed… What if everything that I wanted to get rid of had to be discussed first? I think I would’ve given up long ago. 

Some things around here have felt unnecessary to me, but I haven’t pressed on these items because I understand they are important to my husband. So it was a great surprise to hear him say the other day that he’d been thinking about the surround system for the TV, and had come to the conclusion that he didn’t really want it anymore. I was so happy because it’s ugly and has a lot of cords connected to it, which I now can just forget about. And we hardly watch TV anymore anyway. So now we have a few more boxes to give away, packed with speakers and such. It makes me happy that it was him who decided to get rid of it, and not me forcing him.

This is also our last summer with our summer house. Come August we will hand over the keys to the next owner, which means we can enjoy it during the summer months first. We will also need to empty it, and I have made a post on Facebook to which many friends have responded – come visit us, take home whatever you want! When we bought the house we got all the things in it, but the next owner wants it empty, so I thought that would be the best solution. Some things we are bringing to our small house at the allotment, but most things need to go. And the part of giving away things for free makes me so happy!

It feels like it’s going to be a great summer! 

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism, Simplifying and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More boxes to give away

Leave a Reply

