Makeover pictures

Summer holiday – yay! Getting kind of stressed out that I’ve already had one week off, but I guess I just need to relax and go with the flow – being a teacher I can hardly complain about having a short holiday anyway, that just seems ungrateful, so nope, I am going to enjoy myself. It does seem to be one of those typical Swedish summers though, with sun and rain during the same day, so it’s difficult knowing what one can do with ones days. But hey! Not complaining!

On another note – I really don’t get why it’s so difficult to upload pictures from my (i)phone to the computer – it doesn’t make sense that it should be at all difficult! The pics in this post I have sent via the wordpress app, and I apologize for the quality. I wish I had taken before and after-pictures with my “big” camera, but as usual I was too lazy. I still have some things to fix before I want to show any “real” after-pictures of my home, but it’s coming together rather nicely.

I am still surprised – after the washing of clothes, and the dish is done, I have so much time on my hands, because there’s hardly anything to pick up anymore. I know I should use my time more wisely, but I feel a bit paralyzed, like I don’t know what to do with my life anymore. It’s actually pretty scary – the kids need me less and less and I think I need to find something to do that makes me happy. I am working on that one.

We just spent a couple of days at the summer house, but I am kind of over it now. Being there, I mean. It’s sold, we will hand over the keys at the end of the summer, and I don’t really feel like being there at all. I just know I need to get rid of all the stuff in there, and it’s soooooo much! My mantra though – it’s going to be all right! I “just” need to fix the house at the allotment so that I can move some of the furniture from the summer house… It feels like such a project. We were supposed to go visit a friend in Amsterdam at the end of July, but had to cancel because we need the money for our projects at home instead. Bummer, and also, not a bummer, because yeah, it’s nice when everything is in order where I need to spend most of my time.

I’ll stop the chit-chatting and leave you with the pictures of our hallway. It’s gone from dark red with gold patterns (and some fake brick wallpaper on other parts of the walls), to white with some silvery floral pattern that reflects the light very nicely. It all feels so much cleaner and more spacious, and coming home doesn’t feel like drowning anymore. Since I also thrifted a lovely chrystal lamp that’s not in the picture, I’ll take some better pictures with my big camera soon, just to show it off. Heh.20140626-170104-61264404.jpg

20140626-170104-61264120.jpg

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in home and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Makeover pictures

  1. Anne Lene says:

    Much, much better 🙂 congrats

Leave a Reply

