I learned something yesterday

Like the title implies – I learned something yesterday. I actually learned a few things.

As I woke up I decided to get dressed right away instead of wearing my cozy clothes that I usually wear when I’m off work (which in my case would be all summer long!), and by doing that I found at the end of the day that my whole day was better. I felt like I was doing something, like I could go out without having to change, like the day actually meant something. So I did the same thing today, and even though I haven’t been outside all day, I’ve still felt less tired than I usually feel when I’m off from work. I guess the lesson learned is that it’s worth taking care of one self – how can I not have learnt this before, during my 35 years on earth?!

I did have a really good day yesterday. My husband left early in the morning for Stockholm and a concert, and I was alone with the kids half the day until my sister came to visit. On a side note I have to say that most days are easier when I’m alone with the kids, because that’s what we’re used to since my husband works every other weekend. When we’re all at home at the same time the expectations of our time together are so high that it usually feels like we’ve failed if all of us aren’t happy the whole day. And what families are (the whole day)? That being said, I do like it when all of us are together, it just takes some time getting used to. 

Anyway! Yesterday my daughter had planned to have a party for her friends. She’d asked two weeks ago if she could, and I said yes – as long as I didn’t have to plan anything. Now my daughter is 8,5 years old, so perhaps that was a big responsibility for her to undertake, but that’s how it went down anyway. She handmade the invitations, send them, planned the party and games, and payed for the prices herself. The theme was MoviestarPlanet, which she plays on a daily bases, and she invited three friends who also plays it, and her brother of course. To make this story a bit shorter – the party was a success! Everyone (including the adults) had a lot of fun and the kids enjoyed the different parts that my daughter had planned for them. And as for me, I learned to trust my daughter to pull off to plan her own party. It was really nice!

Image

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I learned something yesterday

  1. laurakelly2 says:

    I found a similar thing about getting dressed 1st thing. I have a ‘Little Golden Book’ for adults thats suggested the idea and I love it. It makes a big difference in how I approach my day whether it is during the school year, in which case I get dressed before breakfast, or vacation time 🙂

    • It is crazy how that has worked out this summer! I have not once put on my pajama pants in the morning since I discovered this, and I’ve felt so much better this whole time! That doesn’t mean I’m not in my PJ’s now though, at 6 pm 😉 haha!

Leave a Reply

