Greetings from the beach

As the month of July disappears fast, I realize all my plans to write more during my vacation, has kind of failed. I also realize that I’m fine with that. There will come a time when being outside all day won’t be anything I wish for, so for now I’ll just spend every moment actually living in the moment. It feels nice!

I’m with my parents and kids on an island at the archipelago of Blekinge, a part of Sweden where I was born and where I spent my summers as a kid. I’m nostalgic and I’m relaxed in a way it can’t be when I’m at home. When I’m at home or at our allotment, I just want to work! Paint the walls, dig the earth, fix the kids’ rooms… It’s relaxing in a sense because I never have time for that during my actual work-periods, and I enjoy doing things, but this, sitting in a sun chair at the beach, watching the ocean, this is something else. And I see it now, the great thing about not owning your own summer house, but renting someone else’s. I don’t have to take care of it, I just need to go there and relax. I just had to write that down to remember it when I get overwhelmed with the urge of owning my own house again… Mostly when I think about owning a house I just think about how to decorate it, but there’s a lot of work going in to a house too. The allotment is my little paradise now. Living simple is different things for different people, and for me it’s all about this for me.
Relaxing. Enjoying.

20140722-114106-42066008.jpg

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Greetings from the beach

Leave a Reply

