The kids are growing – I need a hobby!

Yes, what I said in my headline! My kids are growing and I need a hobby! 

Every day for the past two weeks the kids have gone out the door, not to really come back in for a few hours because they’re out playing, and I’m in here doing… well, as it turns out, not much! I clean up a bit and read for a while, but then I’m kind of restless and feel like I have to do something more productive. I am sure this is just a phase called summer, because I know the kids won’t be out as much for the rest of the year, but still, they’re getting older and they don’t need me as much as they used to. At least they don’t need me with them as much. (Which is something I also have to learn – to let go a bit more! Today they actually could go to the store and buy some milk all alone. Heart wrenching!)

So. Hobbies? What do you people do in your spare time?

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in dreams and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The kids are growing – I need a hobby!

  1. I am a jack of all trades and master of none in art journaling, crocheting, scrapbooking, making essential oil blends and minimalizing the house. That is my free time which I don’t get entirely enough of.

    • Ah. I did a lot of photography before, but tired of editing in front of my computer. I also did scrapbooking but then didn’t know what to do with it all… Today I went to my sister and she taught me to make an album from scratch though, that was a lot of fun, we were at it for eight hours (!!). I think I want to learn crocheting. Something were you don’t need a lot of props. Yeah.

  2. As a writer I treasure solitude. I would not be in a hurry to fill the empty space of time! It is in this empty space that creativity can emerge. It seems a common thing to want to rush in with more activity to fill a bit of time, but I’d be patient, maybe clean out a closet, simplify some more, make room for something new to emerge slowly.

    • Yes, I guess I could wait, it’s just that I feel so restless and bored 😀 when the kids are out playing for hours I just wish I had something creative to do so that I don’t feel like I have to do chores 😉 thank you for reading and responding, it’s much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

