Chain reactions?

Looking around I am coming to the conclusion that it seems like simplifying one part of your life is starting chain reactions in other parts of your life. 

I started by getting rid of my stuff, continued on to wanting to eat better and grow my own food, and have now started to take care of my body in a way I’ve never been interested in doing before. Yes, you read that right. I have started to work out. The mysterious part isn’t really that I’m working out, I have started and quit before, but rather that I enjoy doing it. Who would’ve ever thought?! I am going to the gym and I’m doing the weight lifting machines, and I think it’s fun! If you’d seen my attitude when I went there day one, you’d probably think I was another person than the one working out three times a week, sweating like a pig……

So I am kind of intrigued – what does this simplifying stuff do to people? I find that I spend less time doing chores and getting spare time on my hands, which I choose to spend on (trying to) getting in shape and feeling better, and that makes my whole family feel better because I have more energy left for them. Crazy stuff!

Does anyone else experience chain reactions like this, or in other areas?

 

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Simplifying and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chain reactions?

  1. Anne Lene says:

    I’ve noticed the same. I think it’s our mindset that changes slightly, while we are simplifying. It might also be that all the blogs/books/articles we read makes us think in ways we didn’t before 😉 I mean, it’s after I started to simplify I decided to take the time to prioritise my health in a way I haven’t done since I got sick 4 years ago, it’s after I started to declutter I decided to also have a year of only buying necessities. And now I’m so used to not spending money on typical “wants”, that I don’t want for anything (I have everything I need). Now, I’m not growing my food , but I do eat healthier than before. So yeah… Simplifying spills over in all aspects of our lives…

    • Haha! Yes we might influence each other, good thing it’s in a good way 😉
      It feels like I have more time and energy now, so that I can actually try and focus on how I live my life, not just getting by.

  2. Joanna says:

    I’ve also found that as I sort through all the stuff in my life, I’m trying to eat a bit more healthily, I practise yoga more regularly than ever before and a couple of weeks ago I took up running and am really enjoying it. I’m not sure if all these things are connected, but it’s likely that they are. Congrats on starting to work out; it’s great you’re enjoying it so much 🙂

  3. Kristin Maillard says:

    Yes yes yes. I get the chain reactions too. I also have become aware they work in reverse. One negative choice greases the wheels for the next. But thank heaven it works for the good stuff too – almost exponentially 🙂

Leave a Reply

