Time for new experiments!

I got to talking with my husband about minimalism again yesterday. He’d noticed I hadn’t thrown anything away lately, and he’s right, it’s been a slow couple of months. I’m mostly blaming me not feeling well, but as of Friday I’m all better and I just feel the energy coming back! Today (after going to the gym) I cleaned the house, put everything back in its place and am thinking about what else I can shed.

After our conversation yesterday, my husband and I decided to make an experiment in the kitchen next week. The kitchen is always the one place where all the chaos is – we’re too lazy to clean up after ourselves and things just accumulate in there, in the wrong place. Now, I’ve seen people (mostly single people or couples) doing the one dish per person-thing, and I’ve felt kind of envious. I’d also like to just have one of everything and then clean up afterwards, because it seems so much easier. But throw two kids in the game and I’ve been thinking that it would be impossible.

Until now. Because now I’m thinking – why not?! So that’s what we’re doing. I am putting all the dishes away, except for one of everything for the four of us. I won’t give away our plates and such, I’ll just put it away for a week. And then we’ll see if this would work for us too.

I am looking forward to this experiment!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in family, Minimalism, Simplifying and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time for new experiments!

  1. Kristin Maillard says:

    What a great idea. Let us know how it goes.

  2. I look forward to hearing how it goes!

Leave a Reply

