The kitchen experiment, three days in

I’m thinking the title of this post is self explanatory, but just in case, here’s what’s going on. It’s been three days with just one of everything, per person, in the kitchen. One glass, one coffee mug (which means we have four but the kids don’t drink coffee so this might be cheating a bit), one plate, one fork, one… yeah, you get the picture.

Has it worked, or do we need more? I didn’t think we would manage, or at least that it would be difficult to do so, but of course, again, there’s no problem in having less. The thing is you need to clean and put things away as soon as you’ve used it, but that is just a perk, I’d say. I am still lazy enough to use the dishwasher on the fast program, which I should feel ashamed for, but I don’t so I won’t pretend to care. And there will be a problem later today because my parents are coming over for dinner, but as I didn’t throw anything away the problem is easily solved by fetching what we need. And really, how often do we have people over? Not very often.

Now, the funniest part of this experiment is my husband. He does not like it, and not because it is difficult, no, he just doesn’t see the point in having less in the kitchen when we have the space for it. He is most upset over the fact that I’ve put away the coffee mugs, so he is forced to use the same ones every day…. Eh, okay. Didn’t know the mugs were that special to him…

I am not sure I want to get back to having 12 of everything when this week is over, but since I am not alone in this household, I guess we’ll see about that.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism, Simplifying and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

