Making adult decisions

I have written before about our dream to go to Iceland. Everything I have sold during the last year has ended up in our piggy bank, and we had actually earned enough to buy the plane tickets for the whole family. We still needed money for the actual being in Iceland, but I figured we would easily do that when my new job starts.

Enter car repair. We borrowed money from my parents, but I really don’t like to do that. I know they can afford lending us the money, but growing up I know my parents struggled to make ends meet, and my dad took some bad loans, and so on and so forth. I know he has a plan that is to be debt free in two years, so who am I to take his money to repair the car, when we have money in the piggy bank that would cover the cost.

So yeah, we talked to the kids about economics, and told them that Iceland has to wait, and then we broke the money stash and did the adult thing and gave dad his money. Not a big deal to some, but for us, not using the travel money to travel, felt harsh. Then again, not our money, right?

We are many years from being debt free, this because of my student loan. We have decided though, to pay off what we can as quickly as possible and be as little in debt as we possibly can. I think we’ll be rid of all debt, except my student loan, in about two years, without even trying very hard, which feels quite nice. I don’t know if it’s unusual, I only have my parents to compare with, but being under 40 and practically debt free does feel like a goal I’d like to reach.

Even if it is a boring, adult decision.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in dreams, economics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making adult decisions

  1. Anne Lene says:

    It’s so tedious having to be an adult isn’t it? I’m so sorry about your trip, but you are right, it was the adult thing to do.

    Being debt free is a goal I’m working towards as well, even though I have years yet to go, having a mortgage on my home. Thankfully I can say, that I own more of my home than the bank does 😉 I did however pay my last mortgage payment on my car here in September (6 months yearly), and I’m really chuffed about that 🙂 If only the house would be that easy… 😉

Leave a Reply

