Convincing others

I’ve considered myself a minimalist for 14 months now, trying to sell this way of living to my family and friends as much as I can without pushing too hard and pushing them away. I am not making profits (of course!) and aren’t forcing anyone, I just want them to see that living with less is living more.

Tomorrow I’m leaving my in-laws’ house after five days here. Even before my minimalist journey begun I always felt so good leaving their home and getting back to my own place. It’s not that I don’t like the in-laws, but their stuff is suffocating me. I always felt so light coming home after a visit at their place, like I could breathe again. I am longing to be back in my own home, where there’s almost no furniture left to store things.

This time around is the first time in 2,5 years that I’ve decided to come with my family here. Usually I have some excuse or other to not make the six hour trip, but this time I had none. It’s not like I had forgotten, but I can’t get over the amount of things they have, and it makes me itch! I want to sort and throw away, and I know that it probably wouldn’t even show. But other than offering just once, I am not saying anything about it. I understand that it is not my place to insist or persuade (like I’m trying to with my own parents), they have to either do this in their own pace, or my husband and his siblings will be doing it when that time comes.

But! My father-in-law actually cleared a drawer today and then he came to me in the other room and showed me that he found a purse that he’d forgotten about. When he opened it he found $450! And he had no idea! Obviously my in-laws are not in need of money…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/dfc/60688777/files/2015/01/img_2729-1.jpg one of FIVE bookshelves filled with not books…

Anyway. What I wanted to say is that yes, I know that if everyone just paired down on their things they would be happier, and I wish they would get that, but forcing or convincing people to pair down is not the way to do it. The only way of really convincing people of this, I think, is to show them that you don’t need things to be happy.

And tomorrow I will return home and start filling up some boxes to give away because the itch is bad right now!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Cleaning, family, Minimalism, Simplifying and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Convincing others

  1. Hope you scratched the itch!

Leave a Reply

