Book Challenge 2015

I consider myself a reader, and one of my goals this year is to read more books.

When I was younger I’d call myself a book worm, proudly so, but now I just say I’m a reader. It doesn’t feel like I do read that many books in a year. Sometimes I read three books in ten days, but then I get into a funk and don’t read anything for a month. Since I was a teacher up until three weeks ago, spending my days with kids aged 12-15, I’ve mostly been reading young adult fiction. Which I love!  But I feel I should broaden my reading a bit because I am getting bored with the same story over and over again.

I believe setting a number of books to read is going to make me want to read more consistently, so I set my goal to 52 on Goodreads. This is probably both doable for me in a year, and also probably the number of books I usually read, I just never counted before.

To broaden my horizon and to get myself out of the YA fiction, I found a challenge which I feel is really giving me something to sink my teeth in.

Book Challenge 2015 – the list

  1. a book with more than 500 pages
  2. a classic romance
  3. a book that became a movie
  4. a book published this year
  5. a book with a number in the title
  6. a book written by someone under 30
  7. a book with nonhuman characters
  8. a funny book
  9. a book by a female author
  10. a mystery or thriller
  11. a book with a one-word title
  12. a book of short stories
  13. a book set in a different country
  14. a non-fiction book
  15. a popular author’s first book
  16. a book from an author you love that you haven’t yet read
  17. a book a friend recommended
  18. a Pulitzer Prize-winning book
  19. a book based on a true story
  20. a book at the bottom of your to-read list
  21. a book your mom loves
  22. a book that scares you
  23. a book more than 100 years old
  24. a book based entirely on its cover
  25. a book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t
  26. a memoir
  27. a book you can finish in a day
  28. a book with antonyms in the title
  29. a book set somewhere you always wanted to visit
  30. a book that came out when you were born
  31. a book with bad reviews
  32. a trilogy
  33. a book from your childhood
  34. a book with a love triangle
  35. a book set in the future
  36. a book set in high school
  37. a book with a color in the title
  38. a book that made you cry
  39. a book with magic
  40. a graphic novel
  41. a book by an author you haven’t read before
  42. a book you own but haven’t read
  43. a book that takes place in your hometown
  44. a book that was originally written in another language
  45. a book set during Christmas
  46. a book written by an author with your same initials
  47. a play
  48. a banned book
  49. a book based on or turned into a TV show
  50. a book you started but never finished

(since #32 is a trilogy, this adds up to 52 books)
Any suggestions on books are welcome, and if you’d like to join in, please do so!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge 2015, books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Challenge 2015

  1. Anne Lene says:

    Ive got a couple of books for you 🙂
    A book you can read in one hour – Who moved my cheese – by spencer johnson
    A book you can read in a day – The alchemist – by paulo coelho
    I have several suggestions for books turned into movies, so let me know if you run into trouble on this one, which i doubt 😉

Leave a Reply

