Out and about

I start my new job on Monday. I am both nervous and excited. I am still “working” at my old job as a teacher, but instead of starting a new semester and working for ten days, I decided to use some of my parent days that I still have left with my son (you’ll have to look up the Swedish system to get this, I guess, because it’s another topic all together so I won’t talk about that right now). Instead of just staying at home, which we already did for our almost three week long Christmas holiday, we decided to take a trip to the sun.

And that’s where we are now! Except the first four days were not as sunny as I hoped for when I booked the trip two weeks ago. It’s been better today though, leaving my face looking like a tomato.

We are in Gran Canaria, Spain. It’s both mine and my son’s fifth time in the Canary Islands, and considering that he is six years old, I guess that says something about the frequency of visits… I have a love-hate relationship with Gran Canaria and every time I leave I say to myself that it’s the last time I go here, but then, when push comes to shove, I return year after year. And it’s all because of the sun, and the fact that going here is cheap. (The “hate” parts are many more, but “sun” somehow wins every year – I guess that’s how it is when you have too little of it in your own country) The Spanish people I have spoken to say that it is unusually cold this year, but it’s still way better than the weather in Sweden, so we are enjoying ourselves anyway.

This trip, the first one with just me and my boy, we are located in the north of the island, in Las Palmas, which is the largest town of all the islands. The other times we’ve been to the southern parts, where there’s like 350 days of sun in a year, but I wanted to go somewhere where it’s not all tourists. (And also, it was cheaper. This trip we are really on a tight budget!)

Being amongst “real” people is very interesting. We’re in a place where it’s about 24 degrees Celsius all year, but now it’s winter so people dress accordingly. Let’s just say it’s easy to spot the tourists in Las Palmas, because we’re wearing shorts and sandals while the Spanish people have jeans, scarves, jackets and winter boots on. They all look so very stylish and I kind of envy them, because I could never dress like that in the winter. Mostly because our winters aren’t warm. It is a bit hilarious actually, when I think about the winters at home. I don’t think the Spanish winter clothes would fare well…

We are spending tomorrow, our last day here before we leave ridiculously early on Saturday, on the beach. Then I think I am ready to bring my red face and very relaxed self back to Sweden and start my new job.

I’m ending this post just like that, but with some pictures of our stay so far.

2015/01/img_2902.jpg

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in family, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Out and about

  1. Anne Lene says:

    Ohhhhh, this sounds nice… sun, warm, beach, water and fun with your son. You just can’t beat that.. have loads of fun you two 🙂

    • Thank you! Today he bought a frisbee. Cant remember when i was throwing frisbee for that long, but that’s what you do on the beach with noone else to entertain your kid 😉 haha! Im loving it, actually 🙂

      • Anne Lene says:

        Frisbee… Ohh, I haven’t done that in ages. But kinda as I looked at one two days ago thinking I should get one because is fun, but wondering who I could convince to “play” with me 🙂

Leave a Reply

