#29: Silence of the Grave by Arnaldur Indridason

I have read Silence of the Grave by Arnaldur Indridason, and chose to use #29 on my Book Challenge list; a book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit.

This is book number two in a series about Inspector Erlendur Sveinsson, set in Iceland. I haven’t read the first one, but I figured it probably wouldn’t really matter because when it comes to crime fiction the stories doesn’t necessarily need to be read in chronological order. And I was right.

I love the author’s name and I’ve said it out loud many, many times while reading the book. I guess I’m a bit like my daughter, who has many Icelandic friends – she thinks she knows how to speak Icelandic herself. It is actually the best part of the book, I think; the names of the people in it.

The story is good, or at least I started thinking so after having read half of the book, but I found it a bit difficult to enjoy it because of the language. I read it in Swedish and I think something got lost in translation. Or perhaps Icelandic is a bit more complicated, or wordy, or something, because I felt like giving up a few times. I am glad I am doing this challenge though, because it made me push through and finish the book and even enjoy the story. (A body is found, nobody knows who it is, Erlandur figures it out)

I have book number four at home (got them both from a colleague who was throwing them away) but I’m not sure I’ll read it any time soon.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge 2015, books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

