#8 My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman

Okay, so number eight on my Book Challenge list was supposed to be “a funny book”, and because I have read a book by Fredrik Backman before, called A Man Called Ove, which I think was both funny and sad and a bit tragic, I was thinking this one would be the same. (Me and the rest of the Swedish population, judging how many books were sold as soon as it came out)

I usually don’t choose “funny” books. I am not a person who likes “funny”. Well, not things that are supposed to be funny, anyway. I don’t know how else to put it. But funny books are not my cup of tea.

Anyway. I read this book and I know others may find it funny. But just as with A Man Called Ove, I found this book mostly sad. In some places I laughed, though. Still a good read, and as I doubt that I will try finding another “funny” book anytime soon, this will be my entry for number eight. Read about the book here. I am too lazy and tired to actually write more than this today.

(One thing bothers me with both Backman’s books, and that is that he seems to get the ages of his main characters so desperately wrong that I just can’t look past that for the first half of the book. Ove in A Man Called Ove is supposed to be in his late 50’s, but he acts like he’s at least 70. Elsa in My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises is supposed to be 7 almost 8 years old, but she acts like she’s 10. Small things, you might think, but I still get hung up on those small things and it irritates me enough to almost not finish the books..!)

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge 2015, books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

