A new go -Project 333

Clothes. You kind of need to wear them, and many people like to shop and get a lot of them, but for me, it’s just an evil necessity. I hate shopping, and it’s mostly because I am large and can’t buy just whatever I want, but am forced to wear what fits. For me,  it’s been easiser to just not try that hard. But last year, that kind of changed.

It changed because of a woman called Courtney Carver, and her website. (Check it out!). Thanks to Courtney Carver’s Project 333, last year in April, I sorted out everything that I wasn’t using and either gave it away, or threw it out. Had I had clothes that I would want to save for another season, I probably would, but I didn’t have any, so away they went. I decided to only keep clothes that I liked and that I used, and, most importantly, that went together. This would, I read, make my life easier because I wouldn’t have to dig though clothes that I hated. It would save me time in the morning and make me feel better about myself, I was told.

Guess what? It’s all true.

So, last week, before starting my new job, I sorted out my clothes again. I should change clothes according to seasons, I realize that, but just because you get better with dressing yourself properly, doesn’t mean you start to love shopping…. How very minimalist of me to just wear things until they break instead, right?

Anyway! I went shopping last week and got everything I needed to start over with the project. This time I actually took some photos of the clothes before getting them into the closet, so I thought I’d show you. I’m not sure I’ll get the proper terms right here though, after all, it’s clothes…..

2015/01/img_2936.jpg

I got two over sized (?) cardigans that goes with all the blouses I have. I also have two regular black cardigans. (I am trying hard not to throw on a hoodie, because I don’t really think it is age appropriate, but I’ve worn hoodies like they were my uniform for the last ten years, so now I’ve switched to cardigans…) And three pairs of shoes. Up until last week I was still walking around in my Converse, and it was pretty cold, considering it’s winter, in Sweden. They’ll have to retire until spring now.

2015/01/img_2932.jpg

I now have six blouses to wear either under cardigans or without anything else. I’m not in love with the last one, but it works pretty well with something over it, so it stays for now. Besides, I’m not doing any more shopping before spring! I also have four different black tops, and one maroon top too, that can go under a blouse if needed. 2015/01/img_2937.jpg

I got these kind of knitted tops too, that I can wear either under my over sized cardigans, or by them selves. I am a black, white and grey person, as you can see, with a touch of blue… I was actually looking for some nice scarves to add some color, but I didn’t find anything I likes so I just didn’t bother. I will continue looking though.

Except for these clothes I have two belts (one black, one brown) and three pairs of blue jeans with different cuts. (Courtney Carver say you don’t have to count undergarments, sleep wear or work out clothes, so I don’t) So, the clothes that I actually wear adds up to 25 items all in all.

Project 333, I’ve got this!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism, Project 333, Shopping, Simplifying and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A new go -Project 333

  1. Looks like you’ve got some really great pieces to mix and match. Way to go on getting such a cute capsule wardrobe put together!

  2. lethally says:

    Looks like a good mix. I’ve been doing the Project 333 for about six months now, and I found that getting up to 33 is actually quite difficult – maybe you’ll find the same thing?

Leave a Reply

