Am I a modern hippie?

Two weeks ago I started my new job at the Swedish Customs. I will spend the first five months Β in my office, educating myself about customs, something that is obligatory for everyone who starts working there. The course started this past Monday and I went to Stockholm to meet all the new customs-people for three days.

Meeting new people has never been my forte. I always feel out of place, never interesting enough to actually make friends, rather listening to people to see where I’ll fit in than talking just to hear my own voice. Well, the whole point with this trip to Stockholm was to get to know my class, 27 new people from around Sweden.

After a few “get to know each other” questions and activities, I got the feeling of being … well, unique, really. I felt like a modern hippie, but instead of PEACE and LOVE, I was talking about growing my own food, decluttering, and minimalism. I felt very out of place.

During this past year, blogging and getting to know people in other countries, my main focus has of course been what I am interested in, reading only blogs about exactly that. I was under the impression that most people were thinking about consuming less, that I was part of a green wave of sorts.

I still think that I am somehow a part of all that, but that we’re not that many in Sweden just yet… At least not in Customs.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism, Simplifying, work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Am I a modern hippie?

  1. Anne Lene says:

    I hear you πŸ™‚ I get some of the same feeling when I talk to friends and other people I haven’t talked to for a while… It’s like I’m a bit on the “weird” side πŸ˜‰

    • Ha! Seems like we both are πŸ˜€ I was called “hipster” today, mostly for my hair, but also for growing my own food and doing the minimalist thing. Not sure that’s the definition, or a compliment, but I thanked them anyways πŸ˜„

Leave a Reply

