#35: Idoru by William Gibson

Here comes another post about books! More exactly number 35 on my Book Challenge list, which is a book set in the future; Idoru by William Gibson.

So my mission is to not only read the books on the list of my challenge, but also to clear out old books on my shelf. I started sorting out my books last year, and it was the one thing that really was a challenge when it came to decluttering and simplifying. It hurt physically, silly as it may sound.

I sorted out books that I had read and didn’t like. Those were easy. I sorted out books that I had bought thinking I would one time read them, but now I just couldn’t see what had attracted me to them in the first place. Also easy (because there weren’t too many of those). I made my husband sort out the ones he had brought into the marriage that he didn’t want to read again, and if I didn’t want to read them either, they were gonners. I gave away books I liked. Difficult. And books I loved but knew I wouldn’t read again. Heartbreaking. And what is left is very few books – those I love and would like to read again, and those which I haven’t read but felt like I’d probably want to read at some point.

Enter Idoru. One of my husband’s books that got to stay. He hasn’t read it, but like all things Japan, I felt like I had to read it. It’s taken me 11 days (and 14 years before that…), which is a pretty long time considering it’s only 310 pages. At first I didn’t get into it, I think it took me a hundred pages, but I think I also was in a funk so I won’t blame it entirely on the book. It might be something about the way Gibson writes though, it was a bit irritating at first, but once I got used to it I actually longed to read more.

What’s it about? Oh how I suck at this part of my “reviews”. Since others have written about it already, I just don’t see the point. I’m lazy like that, which is funny, considering I’m a teacher and used to force students to write reviews. (in all fairness I always asked them to put more emphasis on their thoughts than the plot)

It’s supposed to be the second book of a trilogy, but I didn’t know that when I started, and it also made no difference to whether or not I understood it, and now that it’s ended, I wish it could have been just a bit longer…. I guess that means I liked it.And yes, I did.

Just not enough to keep it, so now I have set it free and hope someone else will find it and read it.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge 2015, books, Simplifying and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #35: Idoru by William Gibson

  1. Lily Lau says:

    You’ve completely caught my attention with this book 🙂

Leave a Reply

